Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Search
Design Support: Become a designer
Share |



 

How do I become a designer?

Wanna Have a Designer Future?” Careers Booklet

 

The Design Support programme has developed a booklet called “Wanna have a Designer Future?”, which introduces design as a field of study, and outlines 16 career choices in five fields – product, spatial, communication, service and systems design.  It will be distributed initially to Life Orientation teachers with the primary aim of encouraging the subject choice at the FET level to learners and their parents. 

 

The booklet has also been transformed into an A1 poster for classrooms and libraries, and designed to fold down into an A5 booklet.

 

Download a copy of the booklet

 


Career videos


The CCDI developed an exciting series of videos aimed at school learners interested in design as a career. The series, which is titled Careers in Design, features a diversity of opportunities that are available to young people in the world of design.

The nine films, which are about three minutes long, cover traditional careers such as graphic design and architecture, and also newer professions like behavioural design and interaction design, and they are aimed to pique school learners’ interest and get them excited about the different career professions in the design sector.

Read more of the story here http://www.ccdi.org.za/news/249190/Videos-show-diversity-in-design-careers-for-young-people.htm

You can watch the videos on the CCDI YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLiu5cDANvUayv5qHkaufL0ipt_6FZjFPY

 


Schools listing


There are a variety of tertiary institutions that offer a broad range of foundation to postgraduate degrees and diplomas in design-related field.

Universities:


Cape Peninsula University of Technology www.cput.ac.za

(Architecture, Design, Informatics, Jewellery, Product, Graphic, Textile


University of Cape Town www.uct.ac.za

(Architecture, Engineering, Interactive Arts)


University of Stellenbosch www.sun.ac.za

(Graphic Design, Engineering, Illustration, Jewellery, Sustainability)


University of the Western Cape www.uwc.ac.za

(Technology Education, Geography –urban planning, Bioinformatics)

 

Technical Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Colleges: (offering skills-based technical design degrees, diplomas and certificates)

Boland College (Engineering, Construction): www.bolandcollege.com


College of Cape Town (Civil Engineering, Jewellery, Furniture): www.cct.edu.za 


False Bay College (Engineering, Animation): www.falsebaycollege.co.za


Northlink College (Engineering): www.northlink.co.za  


South Cape College (Engineering): www.sccollege.co.za 


West Coast College (Engineering): www.westcoastcollege.co.za

 

Private institutions

AAA School of Advertising (Graphic Design, Multimedia) www.aaaschool.co.za

Cape Town Creative Academy (Communication Design, Illustration, Multimedia) www.ctca.co.za

Concept Interactive (Graphic Design, Web Design) www.conceptinteractive.co.za

City Varsity (Production Design, Animation) www.cityvarsity.co.za 

Corner Stone (Interior Design)  www.cornerstone.ac.za 

Design Academy of Fashion (Fashion) www.daf-academy.co.za

Design Time (Interior Design) www.design-time.co.za 

Elizabeth Galloway Academy (Fashion) www.elizabethgalloway.co.za

FEDISA (Fashion) www.fedisa.co.za

Friends of Design (Graphic Design, Web Design, 3D modelling) www.friendsofdesign.net

Inscape College (Graphic, Architectural, Industrial Design) www.inscape.co.za

Kingsway College (Mechanical Engineering) www.kingswaycollege.co.za

Midrand Campus (Communication Design) www.mgi.ac.za

Northlink College (Mechanical Engineering) www.northlink.co.za

Prestige Academy (Graphic, Web Design ) www.prestigeacademy.co.za 

Red & Yellow School of Wisdom & Logic (Graphic Design, Art Direction, Web Design) www.redandyellow.co.za 

Ruth Prowse Art School (Graphic Design, Illustration, Jewellery) www.ruthprowse.co.za

Stellenbosch Academy of Design and Photography (Graphic Design, Multimedia) www.stellenboschacademy.co.za 

Tag443 College (Furniture, Spatial Design) www.tag443.co.za

The Animation School (Animation, Web Design) www.theanimationschool.co.za 

Vega School of Brand Leadership (Communication Design, Multimedia)  www.vegaschool.co.za



Design Support

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
Web Designer.jpg JPG (1.97 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Urban Designer.jpg JPG (2.24 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Textile Designer.jpg JPG (2.2 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Systems Designer.jpg JPG (2.33 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Service Designer.jpg JPG (2.15 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Mechanical Engineer.jpg JPG (2.77 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Industrial Designer.jpg JPG (2.08 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Graphic Designer.jpg JPG (2.74 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Gaming Designer.jpg JPG (2.51 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Furniture Designer.jpg JPG (2.3 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Fashion Designer.jpg JPG (2.48 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Fashion Design.jpg JPG (2.49 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Designer Maker.jpg JPG (2.19 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Civil Engineer.jpg JPG (2.41 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Art Director.jpg JPG (2.42 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Architect.jpg JPG (1.87 MB) Administration 2016/08/05
Design Support - Careers Printable Poster PDF (365 KB)  more ] Administration 2016/08/05
A+ TOR final for evaluation proposals - May 2016 PDF (157.87 KB) Administration 2016/06/03
Design Policy Conference Report PDF (3.86 MB) Administration 2015/04/20
Careers in Design PDF (1.62 MB)  more ] Administration 2015/01/12
Western Cape Design Strategy PDF (357.91 KB)  more ] Administration 2015/01/12
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal